EFSM Newsletter - July, 2017

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

SECRETARY GENERAL

Alexandru Georgescu:

geordv@hotmail.com

SECRETARY GENERAL ELECT

Alex Muset:

dr.muset@musetinstitute.org

PRESIDENT

Marko Bumbasirevic:

marko.bumbasirevic@gmail.com

TREASURER

Ileana Matei:

irmatei@yahoo.com

HISTORIAN

Panayotis Soucacos:

psoukakos@ath.forthnet.gr

NATIONAL DELEGATES

DENMARK

Christian Bonde:

ctbonde@gmail.com

Gete Ester Toft:

gete@dadlnet.dk

FINLAND

Erkki Tukiainen:

erkki.tukiainen@hus.fi

FRANCE

Philippe Valenti:

philippe.valenti@wanadoo.fr

GERMAN SPEAKING GROUP

Gerhard Pierer:

Gerhard.PIERER@uki.at

Ulrich Kneser:

Ulrich.Kneser@bgu-ludwigshafen.de

Dirk Schaefer:

Dirk.Schaefer@usb.ch

GREECE

Alex Beris:

drberis@otenet.gr

ITALY

Pierluigi Tos:

pierluigi.tos@unito.it

POLAND

M. Breborowicz:

mbreborowicz@gmail.com

ROMANIA

Ileana Matei:

irmatei@yahoo.com

SERBIA

Marko Bumbasirevic:

marko.bumbasirevic@gmail.com

SPAIN

Alex Muset:

dr.muset@musetinstitute.org

SWEDEN

Ann-Charlott Docherty Skogh:

anna.docherty-skogh@sll.se

TURKEY

Tackin Ozalp:

tackino@yahoo.fr

Omer Ozkan:

omozkan@gmail.com

ASSOCIATE SOCIETIES

SLOVENIA

Albin Stritar:

albin.stritar@amis.net

CORRESPONDING SOCIETIES

EGYPT

Tarek El-Gammal:

tarek_elgammal@yahoo.com

Magdy Nabil Morsy:

magdynabil@yahoo.com

PERMANENT COMMITTEES CHAIRMEN:

International Relations Committee

Kadir Bacakoglu:

info@kadirbacakoglu.com

Education and Training Committee

Jaume Masia:

JMasia@santpau.cat

Research Committee

Stefano Geuna:

stefano.geuna@unito.it

Clinical Committee

Lucian Jiga:

jigalucian@gmail.com

Dear Friends,


I. First of all I want to thank a lot to all the members of the EFSM ExCo which attended the ExCo Meeting in Cluj Napoca. You can find the Minute of the Meeting attached to this e-mail.


II. There are some questions, which appeared after the EFSM ExCo in Cluj - Napoca, and which should be discussed and need your feedback:

1. We received a letter from Sweden regarding the possible endorsement and advertisement of a course (please find the letter attached). Please let me know what to respond them.

2. Following the discussions in the EFSM ExCO in Cluj Napoca, I think that all the chairmen of the EFSM Committees should start to work together with their committees and promote some constructive activities. We want to ask them to give us a feedback no later than September 1st! The example of the Clinical Committee, chaired until this year by Bruno Battiston, is the one which should be followed!

3. 3. There were some discussions in the WSRM Council Meeting in Seoul this year regarding the new Representative of EFSM in the WSRM Council. According with the WSRM Bylaws, the representatives of the different Federations in the WSRM Council can be nominated for a period of 2 years, with the possibility to sit in the Council for an extra two more years. In the last four years, so until this year, as EFSM General Secretary I was the EFSM Representative into the WSRM Council. According with our Bylaws, the General Secretary is the one, which is the representative. The WSRM Council did not accepted to prolong my position for one more year because the WSRM Bylaws. So, we have to add in our Bylaws a few words regarding who can be the EFSM Representative in the WSRM Council. Please find attached the EFSM Bylaws with a proposed modification written in red, and let me know your opinion. (Art. 9.4 The Secretary General page 10).

4. Anyway, after discussing with some of the members of EFSM Council, I want to propose as this year Representative Prof. Marko Bumbasirevic, the President of the next EFSM Congress in Belgrade. Please let me know your opinion as soon as possible, because we have to communicate our nomination to the WSRM.

5. Another necessary modification in our Bylaws is regarding the Past General Secretary. In the Bylaws is stipulated that the Past General Secretary continues to be a member of the ExCo for two years after the end of his mandate. But, the mandate of the General Secretary last 4 years and can be prolonged for four more years. That means that, if the mandate of a General Secretary last 4 or 8 years, in the last 2 or 6 years of his mandate we will loose one of the members of the ExCo!! So, I think we should add in the Bylaws that a Past General Secretary will remain a member of the EFSM ExCo until the changement of a General Secretary. Please find attached the EFSM Bylaws with a proposed modification written in red, and let me know your opinion. (Art. 9.2 The Executive Committee pages 8 and 9).


III. Please do not forget about the next year EFSM Congress in Belgrade!!!! Despite the fact that we sent a lot of informative e-mails and asked to all the EFSM ExCo members some informations, we received only very few responses until now! Please find attached to this e-mail the last letter sent to all of you. An as soon as possible response from your part will be greatly appreciated!!!! We really need to move forward!!!


IV. Some good news regarding the payment of fees: in this moment only France and Spain did not paid the fee for 2016. We want to ask them to take action and pay their fees as soon as possible! All the other societies paid all their dues and we want to thank them very much! Congratulations!!!


I am looking forward to hearing from all of you very soon.


My warmest regards,


Alexandru Georgescu
EFSM General Secretary